DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
DIRECTOR'S OFFICE
REAL ESTATE BROKERS AND SALESPERSONS - GENERAL RULES

(By authority conferred on the director of the department of licensing and
regulatory affairs by sections 205 and 308 of 1980 PA 299, MCL 339.205 and 339.308,
and Executive Reorganization Order Nos. 1996-2, 2003-1, 2008-4, and 2011-4, MCL
445.2001, 445.2011, 445.2025, and 445.2030)

PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

R 339.22101 Definitions.

Rule 101. As used in these rules:

(@) "Code" means 1980 PA 299, MCL 339.101 to 339.2919.

(b) “Disability” means a determinable physical or mental characteristic which may
result from disease, injury, congenital condition of birth, or functional disorder that
prevents a broker from performing his or her duties under 1980 PA 299, MCL 339.101 to
339.29109.

(c) “Instructor” means an individual who is approved to teach prelicensure classes
pursuant to section 2504(4) of the code, MCL 339.2504(4).

(d) *“Program coordinator” means the individual who assumes the responsibility
under these rules for supervising the administration of approved courses.

(e) "Real estate school™ or "institution™ means an approved entity that represents to
the public that any of its courses fulfill, in whole or in part, the requirements of section
2504(l) and (2) of the code, MCL 339.2504(1) and (2), for prelicensure education.

History: 1991 AACS; 1997AACS; 2002 AACS; 2014 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22103 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2014 AACS.

R 339.22199 Rescission.

Rule 199. R 338.2601 to R 338.2619, R 338.2701, R 338.2703, and R
338.2721 to R 338.2786 of the Michigan Administrative Code, appearing on pages
2569 to 2585 of the 1979 Michigan Administrative Code, are rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS.

PART 2. LICENSING
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R 339.22201 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22203 Validity of broker education; validity of salesperson education.

Rule 203. (1) Acceptable courses for prelicensure education must meet criteria
established by the department but may be reviewed and preapproved by a statewide
real estate trade association for subject matter relevant to the practice of real estate.
Not more than 1 broker course on the same subject will be accepted for credit.

(2) In meeting the broker prelicensure education requirements, the department shall
give credit for the following:

(a) Possession of a law degree, will be considered equivalent to 60 clock hours of
real estate education which shall include credit for 6 hours of instruction in civil rights
law and fair housing law.

(b) Possession of a master's degree in business administration or finance from a
degree or certificate granting public or independent nonprofit college or university, junior
college, or community college is considered equivalent to 60 clock hours of real estate
education.

(c) Possession of a bachelor’s degree in business or finance from a degree or
certificate granting public or independent nonprofit college or university, junior college,
or community college is considered equivalent to 30 clock hours of real estate education.

(3) An applicant for a salesperson license shall have completed 40 clock hours of
qualifying prelicensure education of which 4 clock hours must be on civil rights law and
fair housing law, as defined in section 2504(2) of the code:, MCL 339.2504(2). The
salesperson prelicensure education must be completed not more than 36 months before
the date of application.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22205 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22207 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22209 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2014 AACS.
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R 339.22211 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2014 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22213 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2014 AACS.

R 339.22215 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22217  Acceptable related experience for broker and associate broker
applicants.

Rule 217. For purposes of calculating the time an applicant for a license as a broker
or an associate broker has been engaged in the real estate business, as required by section
2505(7)(b)(viii) of the code, MCL 339.2505(7)(b)(viii), any of the following apply:

(a) A person holding a real estate license in another state will be given 1 year of
credit for each year in which he or she closed 5 or more real estate transactions.

(b) An applicant will be given 1 year of credit for managing at least 10 units, located
in the state of Michigan, for 3 or more years.

History: 2018 AACS.

R 339.22219 Lapse of broker’s license.

Rule 219. If a broker’s license is lapsed, the licenses of all real estate salespersons
and all affiliated associate real estate brokers employed by the real estate broker are
automatically suspended, until the broker is relicensed in accordance with section
2502a(3) of the code, MCL 339.2502a(3) or until there is a change of employer and the
issuance of a new license. If there is a change in employer, the department shall issue a
new license to the salesperson or associate real estate broker without charge if the license
is issued during the same term in which the original license was issued.

History: 2018 AACS.

R 339.22221 Death or disability of broker.

Rule 221. (1) In the event of the death or disability of a broker’s sole principal
associate broker, the department shall allow all affiliated real estate licensees a
reasonable time, not to exceed 1 year, to either wind up the business of the real estate
broker or designate a new sole principal associate broker.
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(2) New business transactions shall not be entered into utilizing the license of a
broker whose sole principal associate broker is deceased or disabled.

(3) One year after the date of death or disability of a broker’s sole associate principal
broker, the licenses of all affiliated salespersons and associate real estate brokers who are
employed by the broker shall be automatically suspended, pending a replacement of the
sole principal associate broker or change of employer and the issuance of a new license.
If there is a change in employer, the department shall issue a new license to the associate
broker or salesperson without charge if the license is issued during the same term in
which the original license was issued.

History: 2018 AACS.

PART 3. PRACTICE AND CONDUCT

R 339.22301 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22305 Service provision agreement.

Rule 305. (1) A broker or a licensee acting on behalf of the employing broker
who enters into a service provision agreement with a party or parties shall provide, at the
time of signing a true executed copy of the agreement to the party or parties signing the
agreement. Every agreement shall be fully completed by the licensee before the party or
parties sign it.

(2) A service provision agreement shall include a definite expiration date and shall
not contain a provision requiring the party signing the agreement to notify the broker
of the party's intention to cancel the agreement upon or after the expiration date.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS.

R 339.22307 Delivery of offer to purchase to buyer; delivery of written
offers to seller; delivery of copies of acceptance to buyer and seller; inclusion of
terms and conditions in offer to purchase.

Rule 307. (1) A licensee shall deliver to the buyer a signed copy of the offer to
purchase immediately after it has been signed by the buyer.

(2) A licensee shall promptly deliver all written offers to purchase to the seller
upon receipt. Acceptable methods of delivery include, but are not limited to, either of the
following:

(@) Delivery in person or by mail.

(b) Delivery by electronic communication as defined in 2000 P.A. 305, MCL
450.831 et seq. The use of electronic records or digital signatures for any real estate
transaction requires the prior agreement of the parties.
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(3) Upon obtaining a proper acceptance of the offer to purchase, signed by the
seller, the licensee shall promptly deliver true executed copies of the acceptance to the
purchaser and seller.

(4) A licensee shall make certain that all terms and conditions of the real estate
transaction are included in the offer to purchase.

(5) A licensee shall not be subject to disciplinary action for failing to submit to the
seller any additional offers to purchase which are received after the seller has accepted
an offer and the sales agreement is fully executed, unless a service provision
agreement requires that subsequent offers be presented.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS.

R 339.22309 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22310 Rescinded.

History: 2002 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22311 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22313 Trust accounts.

Rule 313. (1) Trust or escrow accounts must be maintained in demand accounts
only. Checks drawn on the trust or escrow accounts must be signed by a broker or an
associate broker.  Cosignatories may be used; however, the signature of a broker or
associate broker must accompany this signature.

(2) A broker must maintain a non-interest-bearing demand trust account when any
earnest money deposits or money belonging to others comes into his or her possession.
The account must be maintained in accordance with the requirements of section 2512(k)
of the code, MCL 339.2512(k).

(3) A broker shall maintain a bookkeeping system in the office. At a minimum,
the system must consist of the following:

(@) A record that shows the chronological sequence in which funds are received
and disbursed, as follows:

(i) For funds received, the record must include all of the following information:

(A) The date of receipt and date of deposit.

(B) The name of the party who provided the funds to the broker.

(C) The name of the seller.

(D) The amount of the funds.

(it) For funds disbursed, the record must include all of the following information:
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(A) The date of the disbursement.

(B) The payee.

(C) The check number.

(D) The purpose of the disbursement.

(E) The amount of the disbursement.

(iii) A current balance of the account or accounts must be maintained and be
available to the department upon request.

(b) A record that shows receipts and disbursements as they affect a single,
particular transaction between a buyer and seller shall record each transaction, as follows:

(i) For funds received, the record must include all of the following information:

(A) The names of both parties to a transaction.

(B) The property address or brief legal description.

(C) The dates and amounts received.

(it) For funds disbursed, the record must include all of the following information:

(A) The date.

(B) The payee.

(C) The check number.

(D) The amount of the disbursement.

(4) All trust or escrow account records must be maintained for a period of not less
than 3 years from the date of inception of the records.

(5) A broker or associate broker’s disbursement of an earnest money deposit must
be made at consummation or termination of the agreement in accordance with the
agreement signed by the parties. However, any deposit in the trust account of the
broker for which the buyer and seller have made claim must remain in the broker's trust
account until a civil action has determined to whom the deposit must be paid, or until
the buyer and seller have agreed, in writing, to the disposition of the deposit. The broker
may also commence a civil action to interplead the deposit with the proper court.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22315 Prohibition of licensee becoming party to net service provision
agreement.
Rule 315. A licensee shall not become a party to a net service provision agreement
for an owner, seller, or buyer as a means of securing a real estate commission.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22317 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2017 AACS.
R 339.22319 Rescinded.
History: 1991 AACS; 2017 AACS.

Page 6
Courtesy of Michigan Administrative Rules




R 339.22321  Licensee commissions for other services; disclosure  and
consent of buyer and seller required.

Rule 321. (1) A licensee who is entitled to receive, either directly or indirectly, a
real estate commission as a result of the sale of property, may not also receive a referral
fee or other valuable consideration for placing a loan in connection with that transaction
unless the licensee obtains the prior written consent of the buyer and seller in that
transaction and the fee is not otherwise prohibited by the real estate settlement procedures
act of 1974, 12 U.S.C. 2601 et seq., or other applicable law.

(2) A licensee who is entitled to receive, either directly or indirectly, a real estate
commission as a result of the sale of property, may not also receive a referral fee or
other valuable consideration from an abstract, home warranty, title insurance, or other
settlement service provider in connection with that transaction unless the licensee obtains
the prior written consent of the party or parties with whom the licensee has an agency
relationship and the fee is not otherwise prohibited by the real estate settlement
procedures act of 1974, 12 U.S.C. 2601 et seq., or other applicable law.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS.

R 339.22323 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22325 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22327 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2014 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22329 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22333 Misrepresentation of material facts prohibited; disclosure of
material facts.

Rule 333. (1) A licensee shall not, directly or indirectly, misrepresent material
facts.

(2) A licensee's full disclosure to a buyer or seller of material facts within his or
her knowledge about the condition of the real estate offered shall not be grounds for
disciplinary action, despite a claim by the buyer or seller that the disclosure constituted
disloyalty to the buyer or seller in violation of an agency relationship.
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History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS.

R 339.22335 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 1997 AACS.

R 339.22337 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2014 AACS.

R 339.22339 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2017 AACS.

PART 4. ENFORCEMENT

R 339.22401 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2017 AACS.

R 339.22403 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 1997 AACS.

R 339.22405 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2017 AACS.

PART 5. OUT-OF-STATE LAND SALES

R 339.22501 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2013 AACS.

R 339.22503 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2013 AACS.
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R 339.22505 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2013 AACS.

R 339.22507 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2013 AACS.

R 339.22509 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2013 AACS.

R 339.22511 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2013 AACS.

R 339.22513 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2013 AACS.

R 339.22515 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS

R 339.22517 Rescinded.

; 2013 AACS.

History: 1991 AACS; 2013 AACS.

R 339.22519 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS

R 339.22521 Rescinded.

; 2013 AACS.

History: 1991 AACS; 2013 AACS.

R 339.22523 Rescinded.
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History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2013 AACS.

R 339.22525 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS.

R 339.22527 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2013 AACS.

R 339.22529 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2013 AACS.

PART 6. REAL ESTATE EDUCATION
SUBPART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

R 339.22601 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22602 Rescinded.

History: 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22603 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22604 Rescinded.

History: 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2014 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22605 Rescinded.

History: 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2014 AACS; 2018 AACS.
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R 339.22606 Rescinded.

History: 2007 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22607 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339. 22609 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 1997 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22611 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22613 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22615 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2014 AACS.

R 339.22617 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2014 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22618 Application for approval to offer prelicensure courses; forms;
required information.

Rule 618. (1) A real estate school shall submit a prelicensure course approval
application approved by the department. The application must include, but not be limited
to, all of the following information:

(@) The school name, business address, telephone number, facsimile number,
website address, and e-mail address, if applicable.

(b) The course title.

(c) The names, addresses, telephone numbers, and qualifications of instructors.

(d) The name of the program coordinator.

(e) A summary of topics completed for each prelicensure course to be taught,
including the number of hours allocated to each topic.

() A sample certificate of completion that contains all of the following information:
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(i) The date of course completion.

(i1) Identification of the course including the name of the course as approved by the
department.

(iif) The name and approval number of the school.

(iv) The name of the student.

(V) The number of clock hours completed by the student.

(g) Methodology for verifying and monitoring attendance and the make-up policy.

(h) An enrollment application to be completed by prospective students that
contains a statement disclosing the percentage of students who successfully completed
the program in the past calendar year. The enrollment application must be updated no
later than February 1 of each calendar year.

(2) A real estate school shall report to the department any change in the information
on the application forms within 30 days. The department shall accept or reject a change
within 60 days of notification of the change.

(3) A real estate school shall apply for and obtain approval as determined by the
department for real estate education courses before the courses are offered to the public.

(4) The department shall issue a certificate or letter of course approval or a notice
of denial to the school within 60 days after the application is received. Denials must be
based on substantive deficiencies and specify the reasons for the denial.

(5) The department shall accept courses for approval that meet the criteria
established by these rules and section 2504 of the code, MCL 339.2504.

History: 2018 AACS.

Rule 339.22619 Expiration date for prelicensure courses; renewal.

Rule 619. (1) Approval of prelicensure courses issued by the department to a real
estate school shall expire 1 year from the date the course was approved.

(2) A proprietary real estate school licensed under 1943 PA 148, MCL 395.101 to
395.103 shall comply with the act to maintain approval of the real estate prelicensure
school under this subpart.

(3) To maintain course approval, a proprietary real estate school shall submit to the
department a renewal application that is approved by the department at least 60 days
before the expiration date of the course approval.

History: 2018 AACS.

R 339.22620 Program coordinator.
Rule 620. Each real estate school shall designate at least 1 individual as program
coordinator. The program coordinator shall be responsible for supervising the program
of courses and ensuring compliance with the code and these rules.

History: 2018 AACS.
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R 339.22621 Instructors.

Rule 621. (1) The department shall approve each instructor before he or she teaches
any real estate course. Instructors must possess at least 1 of the following minimum
qualifications:

(@) Teaches or has taught real estate courses at an accredited institution of higher
learning.

(b) Is licensed or certified by the department or other governmental agency to
engage in the real estate aspects of appraising, financing, marketing, brokerage
management, real property management, real estate counseling, real property law, or
other related subjects.

(2) Instructors are responsible for all of the following:

(a) Complying with all laws and rules relating to real estate education.

(b) Providing students with current and accurate information.

(c) Maintaining an environment conducive to learning.

(d) Assuring and certifying accurate attendance of students enrolled in courses.

(e) Providing assistance to students and responding to questions relating to course
materials.

(3) The real estate school shall submit to the department the qualifications of each
instructor teaching an approved course along with the prelicensure course approval
application. The real estate school shall submit the qualifications to the department not
fewer than 60 days before the instructor is scheduled to begin instruction.

History: 2018 AACS.

R 339.22622 Syllabus.

Rule 622. An approved real estate school shall provide students with a syllabus that
contains, at a minimum, all of the following information:

(@) The course title.

(b) The times and dates of the course offering.

(c) The names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the course coordinator and
instructor.

(d) A detailed outline of the subject matter to be covered.

History: 2018 AACS.

R 339.22623 Student attendance and makeup policy.

Rule 623. (1) A student shall attend 100% of a real estate prelicensure course in
order to obtain credit for the course.

(2) Credit for a distance-learning course requires completion of the entire course.
Completion of the entire course means the number of course hours attended equals the
number of hours for which the course is approved.

(3) A real estate school shall have a makeup policy for students who are absent
from or late in arriving at regularly scheduled class sessions.

History: 2018 AACS.
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R 339.22624 Student records; content; inspection.

Rule 624. (1) Each real estate school shall establish and maintain a record for each
student.

(2) Student records must contain all of the following information:

(@) The student's name and address.

(b) The number of clock hours attended.

(c) The student's grade, if an examination is required to determine successful
completion of the course.

(d) The date of course completion.

(e) The last 4 digits of the student's social security number.

(f) The student’s date of birth.

(9) The real estate license identification number, if applicable.

(3) All records must be available for inspection during normal business hours by an
authorized representative of the department.

(4) A real estate school shall maintain records in the following manner:

(a) Records of schools must be maintained permanently.

(b) Records of sponsors must be maintained for a minimum of 6 years from
inception date of the record.

(5) A real estate school shall issue a certificate of completion to a student who
successfully completes an approved real estate course. The certificate must include all of
the criteria set forth in R 339.22618(1)(f).

(6) Each student completing a prelicensure course shall present a state-issued photo
identification or acceptable alternative form of photo identification to the school before
receiving the certificate of completion. Both of the following apply:

(@) For courses conducted in a traditional classroom setting, students or licensees
shall present a state-issued photo identification or other acceptable alternative form of
identification that verifies, to the satisfaction of the school, the identification of the
student or licensee.

(b) For courses conducted through distance education, the school shall ensure that
the student or licensee whose attendance is reported to the department is the same person
who completed the distance education course. The school shall take appropriate
measures to ensure accurate verification of the identity of each student or licensee before
reporting course completion to the department.

(7) At least 30 days before courses are held, schools shall submit to the department
a schedule and geographic location for each course.

(8) Within 5 business days of the conclusion of the last course, schools shall submit,
in a format required by the department, the names of students who have successfully
completed an approved course.

History: 2018 AACS.

R 339.22625  Denial, suspension, or rescission of approval to offer courses;
violation of code or rules.
Rule 625. A real estate school or instructor may be subject to the penalties of
section 602 of the code, MCL 339.602, including disciplinary action against a course
approval, for any of the following reasons:
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(a) Failure to comply with the provisions of the code or these rules.

(b) Revealing or attempting to discover, or soliciting, encouraging, or inducing a
person to reveal, the questions on a real estate license examination administered by or on
behalf of the department.

(c) Making a substantial misrepresentation or inducement regarding a real estate
school or course of study.

(e) Pursuing a continued and flagrant course of misrepresentation or the making of
false promises through agents, salespersons, advertising, or otherwise.

History: 2018 AACS.

R 339.22626 Distance-learning.

Rule 626. (1) Real estate education courses represented as fulfilling the
requirements of section 2504 of the code, MCL 339.2504 and delivered through
distance-learning must be approved, as determined by the department before being
offered to the public.

(2) A distance-learning course must contain all of the following:

(@) All requirements listed R 339.22618 for approval of a prelicensure course.

(b) The individual modules of instruction offered on a computer or other interactive
program.

(c) A list of at least 1 learning objective for each module of instruction. The
learning objective must ensure that if all the objectives are met, the entire content of the
course is understood.

(d) A structured learning method to enable the student to attain each learning
objective.

(e) A method of assessment of the student's performance during each module of
instruction.

(f) A remediation for any student who is deficient in the assessment to repeat the
module until the student understands the course content material.

(3) Delivery systems that meet the distance education criteria for current
certification by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) are
acceptable to the department, as follows:

(@) Proof of ARELLO certification as a primary or secondary provider,
including the summary sheet and certificate, are provided with the application for
course approval.

(b) Upon withdrawal or expiration of ARELLO certification, the approval to offer
distance-learning courses are suspended until ARELLO certification is reinstated or the
real estate school has applied for and received approval from the department according
to subrule (4) of this rule.

(4) Equivalent delivery systems may be used if they are approved, as determined by
the department.

(5) The real estate school shall describe in detail on its application how it will
remedy hardware and software failures.

History: 2018 AACS.
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Editor's Note: An obvious error in R 339.22626 was corrected at the request of the promulgating
agency, pursuant to Section 56 of 1969 PA 306, as amended by 2000 PA 262, MCL 24.256. The rule
containing the error was published in Annual Administrative Code Supplement, 2018. The memorandum
requesting the correction was published in Michigan Register, 2019 MR 13.

R 339.22627 Advertising for approved real estate prelicensure courses.
Rule 627. All advertising for approved real estate courses that are held out to the
public as fulfilling the requirements of section 2504 of the code, MCL 339.2504 must
include the name of the approved school.

History: 2018 AACS.

R 339.22628 Solicitations.

Rule 628. (1) Organizational membership, employment, business-related
solicitations, or any other non-educational presentations are prohibited during
prelicensure courses and are not counted as part of the clock hours of the course.

(2) Students or licensees shall not receive credit for organizational membership,
employment, business-related, or any other non-educational presentations or solicitations
offered in conjunction with an approved course.

History: 2018 AACS.

SUBPART 2. CONTINUING EDUCATION

R 339.22629 Continuing education requirements for licensees.
Rule 629. Beginning with the license cycle after the effective date of these rules,
real estate brokers, associate brokers, and salespersons shall successfully complete 6
hours of continuing education for each year of the license cycle. Two hours of legal
education courses involving statutes, rules, and court cases are required in each year of a
license cycle pursuant to section 2504a(2)(a) of the code, MCL 339.2504a(2)(a).
Remaining hours can be completed at any time during the license cycle.

History: 2018 AACS.

R 339.22630 Waiver of continuing education.
Rule 630. A request for a waiver of continuing education pursuant to section 204(2)
of the code, MCL 339.204(2) must be received by the department before the expiration
date of the license cycle.

History: 2018 AACS.

R 339.22631 Rescinded.
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History: 1991 AACS; 1997 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2014 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22632 Eligible continuing education program.

Rule 632 (1) An eligible “continuing education course” means a course that is
reviewed and certified by a statewide real estate association that has a membership
representing more than 18,000 licensees.

(2) An association that reviews continuing education courses pursuant to subrule (1)
of this rule shall comply with each of the following:

(@) Ensure that all continuing education courses that are offered to licensees are
compliant with section 2504a of the code, MCL 339.25044, and involve subjects that are
relevant to the management, operation and practice of real estate or otherwise contribute
to the professional competence of the licensee.

(b) Provide a system for monitoring a licensee’s compliance with section 2504a of
the code, MCL 339.2504a.

(c) Maintain a list of approved courses and ensure the list is available to licensees.

(3) A school, institution, program, or other person that has been denied certification
as an eligible continuing education course by a statewide real estate association that has a
membership representing more than 18,000 licensees may petition the department to
review the association’s decision in accordance with MCL 339.520 and 339.521.

(4) If a statewide real estate association that has a membership representing more
than 18,000 licensees does not exist, then continuing education courses must be approved
by the board.

History: 2018 AACS.

R 339.22633 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS.

R 339.22635 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS.

R 339.22637 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS.

R 339.22639 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2007 AACS.
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R 339.22641 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2007 AACS.

R 339.22643 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2014 AACS.

R 339.22645 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2018 AACS.

R 339.22647 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2014 AACS.

R 339.22651 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 1997 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2014 AACS.

R 339.22652 Rescinded.

History: 2007 AACS; 2014 AACS.

R 339.22653 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 1997 AACS.

R 339.22654 Rescinded.

History: 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS.

R 339.22655 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 1997 AACS.

R 339.22657 Rescinded.
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History: 1991 AACS; 2014 AACS.

R 339.22659 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 1997 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2014 AACS.

R 339.22661 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS.

R 339.22663 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS.

R 339.22664 Rescinded.

History: 2002 AACS; 2007 AACS

R 339.22665 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 1997 AACS; 2007 AACS; 2014 AACS.

R 339.22667 Rescinded.

History: 1991 AACS; 1997 AACS.
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